2012 Tour de France–Prologue

30 Jun

pThe Tour is under way and no surprise that Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-Nissan) will start tomorrow’s stage in the yellow jersey after winning the prologue time trial today.  Cancellara annihilated the rest of the field, Bradley Wiggins was second, finishing 7 seconds slower, but with a course this short that’s a big time gap.

Other prologue favorite, Tony Martin (Quick Step), had bad luck when his rear tire flatted forcing him to change out bikes. You can’t recover the time you lose changing out a bike in a time trial. Fortunately for him, he’ll have two more tries to best Cancellara in a time trial.

Sylvan Chavanel (Quick Step) had a phenomenal ride, holding first place until the likes of Bradley Wiggins (Sky) and Cancellara knocked him off.

Denis Menchov (Katusha) looked strong and could be a sleeper for a high overall placement.

Wiggins, aka Wiggo, looks strong, confident and loose.

Last year’s Tour champion, Cadel Evans (BMC) had a good time today and is close to his main competitor Wiggo.

Wiggins will be a force to be reckoned with for Evans and other Tour hopefuls.

I was impressed with Evan’s teammate on BMC, T.J. Van Garderen, finishing in 4th place and claiming the white jersey for best young rider.

Prologue Top 15 Finishers:

    • 1. Fabian CANCELLARA, RadioShack-Nissan, in 7:13

    • 2. Bradley WIGGINS, Sky, at :7

    • 3. Sylvain CHAVANEL, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, at :7

    • 4. Tejay VAN GARDEREN, BMC Racing, at :10

    • 5. Edvald BOASSON HAGEN, Sky, at :11

    • 6. Brett LANCASTER, Orica-GreenEdge, at :11

    • 7. Patrick GRETSCH, Argos-Shimano, at :12

    • 8. Denis MENCHOV, Katusha, at :13

    • 9. Philippe GILBERT, BMC Racing, at :13

    • 10. Andriy GRIVKO, Astana, at :15

    • 11. Christopher FROOME, Sky, at :16

    • 12. Peter VELITS, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, at :17

    • 13. Cadel EVANS, BMC Racing, at :17

    • 14. Vincenzo NIBALI, Liquigas-Cannondale, at :18

    • 15. Ryder HESJEDAL, Garmin-Barracuda, at :18

Stage 1 Prediction:

Tomorrow’s stage is likely to be won by either Phillip Gilbert (BMC) or Peter Sagan (Liquigas). I’ll put my money on Gilbert.

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

Creative Commons License
For the Love of Bikes Blog by Susan Lash (2009 - 2014) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at www.loveofbikes.com.